The Levitical Offerings

There are five basic categories of the Levitical Offerings:

  1. Olah = Whole Burnt Offering or Elevation Offering
  2. Minchah = Grain Offering
  3. Shelamin = Peace Offering including the Todah (Thanksgiving Offering)
  4. Chattas = Sin Offering
  5. Asham = Guilt or Trespass Offering

Only the Chattas and the Asham provided atonement and forgiveness for sins and trespasses but these offerings could not take away sins and trespasses.  Only Jesus’ accomplished that when He became our Passover Lamb.  Those who sinned or committed trespasses were expected to repent of their sin and provide restitution plus one fifth for their trespasses.  Since sin and trespasses separate men from God, the Chattas and Asham had to be offered first in order to remove that barrier and restore fellowship with God.  The remaining offerings could then be presented in worship to God.

The Shelamin shows the peace and fellowship that will result when Jesus returns to begin His millennial reign in Jerusalem.  Todah’s were offered to show thanks to God for surviving life-threatening circumstances.  Peace and fellowship can only result today among believers if they will be consistently obedient to God’s commandments.  Since non-believers do not consistently live in obedience to God’s commandments, peace in the world can not be fully acheived.

The Minchah is a picture of the perseverance, obedience, and purification of believers despite persecution for their faith.

The Olah shows that only the righteous will be spared from being consumed in the final judgment.  It also pictures the total dedication and devotion to the will of God.  The ultimate atonement of the Olah is comparable to the covering of the robe of righteousness mentioned in Isaiah 61:10 and Revelation 7:9-10.

All of these offerings show that the wicked will be consumed in the final judgment.  Offerings are not about giving up something.  They are the means to draw near and approach God.

Jesus fulfilled each of these offerings in both life and death.  We too are expected to be living sacrifices that embody each of these offerings.  How do you think we can effectively do that in every aspect of our lives?

For more details on the Levitical Offerings, be sure to read, “Mysteries of the Levitical Offerings.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.